Explain the result of these orders please

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Explain the result of these orders please

Postby ummy111 » 25 Apr 2019, 03:42

ITALY

Tyrrhenian Sea MOVE Ionian Sea -> Bounced
Aegean Sea SUPPORT Tyrrhenian Sea to Ionian Sea -> Supported unit has failed

Austria

Adriatic Sea SUPPORT Apulia to Ionian Sea -> Supported unit has failed
Apulia MOVE Ionian Sea -> Destroyed by F Naples - Apulia

from this move history
https://www.playdiplomacy.com/game_history.php?game_id=154857&gdate=14&phase=O

As I understand the rules, the fleet from the Tyr S should have moved because the fleet from Apulia was dislodged by another attack. What am I missing?
ummy111
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Aug 2012, 18:29
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (979)
All-game rating: (981)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Explain the result of these orders please

Postby SimonMH » 25 Apr 2019, 04:12

The fleets were each supported once into Ionian. Therefore they bounce. That one of the fleets is also attacked/dislodged/destroyed in its province of origin makes no difference.
SimonMH
Premium Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 11:17
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1387
All-game rating: 1699
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Explain the result of these orders please

Postby beadsman » 25 Apr 2019, 04:58

SimonMH wrote:The fleets were each supported once into Ionian. Therefore they bounce. That one of the fleets is also attacked/dislodged/destroyed in its province of origin makes no difference.

Exactly. To further clarify, it would have succeeded if the supporting fleet had been attacked (and support cut), but since it was moving, no support is cut, it bounces, and, because of the no mans land created by the bounce, cannot retreat there. This combined with no other spaces being available for retreat resulted in its latest destruction.

The important thing to remember is that retreats and destroys (even automatic ones) technically happen after the other moves resolve.
Silver member of the Classicists

"Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room." - President Merkin Muffley
“It is easier to forgive an enemy than to forgive a friend.” - William Blake

Imperator of the Cyon Imperium in CYOC
User avatar
beadsman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 05 Oct 2014, 22:33
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1594
All-game rating: 1605
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Explain the result of these orders please

Postby ummy111 » 25 Apr 2019, 11:55

Thanks, I get it now. You all explained it well.
ummy111
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Aug 2012, 18:29
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (979)
All-game rating: (981)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest