Page 1 of 1

fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

PostPosted: 18 Apr 2019, 21:56
by grdg
I thought a fleet could only support another fleet into a bicoastal territory to which it is adjacent/could move to.

For instance:

F Norway/Barents - StP NC
F Bothnia/Fin/Liv - StP SC
F Gascony - Spain SC
F Mars/Lyons/WMed - Spain NC
F Greece/Aeg - Bul SC
F Rum/Black Sea - Bul EC

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

PostPosted: 18 Apr 2019, 22:23
by NoPunIn10Did
This is admittedly a confusing rule. Support isn't given to the destined coast in actuality, but to the whole province itself. The destined coast just happens to be the final address of the moving unit.

F GOB S F Nwy - StP/nc
That order is legal because even though GOB isn't adjacent specifically to the north coast, it is adjacent to St. Petersburg in general.

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

PostPosted: 19 Apr 2019, 02:37
by Solar Flare
NoPunIn10Did wrote:F GOB S F Nwy - StP/nc
That order is legal because even though GOB isn't adjacent specifically to the north coast, it is adjacent to St. Petersburg in general.


Think of it like GoB joins in the attack on St P, which of course it can do. If there's one, unsupported, unit there, and it gets attacked at both it's north coast and south coast, then it's simply 2-v-1 and so the 2 wins.

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

PostPosted: 19 Apr 2019, 10:34
by Mr.E
If a unit to move INTO a space, it can support another unit to hold in that space or to move into that space; however, it may not be able to support a unit to move out from that space.

Using Bulgaria as an example:
    (1) A fleet in Rumania can move to Bulgaria's east coast. It can therefore support a unit in Bulgaria to hold, and it can support a unit moving into Bulgaria, no matter where the supported unit is moving from. So F Rum S AEG-Rum(sc) works. And it has to do so that there is no difference between armies and fleets occupying spaces. For instance, if F Rum S Gre-Bul(sc) didn't work, when the unit in Greece is a fleet, but F Rum S Gre-Bul did work, when the unit in Greece is an army, that would mean there was a difference between an army moving to Bulgaria and a fleet.
    (2) A fleet in Rumania couldn't support a fleet in Bulgaria moving to the Aegean, however. This is because the Rumanian fleet can't move to the Aegean Sea.

It's no different to armies supporting into landlocked spaces (or, indeed any space but landlocked spaces are easier to show the similarities. Using Munich as an example:
    (1) An army in Burgundy can support an army in Silesia to move to Munich. They're coming at Munich from different sides, of course, but it's a coordinated assault on Munich nonetheless.
    (2) A Bur S Mun-Sil, however, doesn't work because, without a catapult, an army in Burgundy can't move to Silesia.

So, yeah, think of it as: If I can move to the space, I can support IN and INTO that space, but might not be able to support OUT from that space.