Convoy to break support

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Convoy to break support

Postby idoido » 16 May 2008, 18:00

If naval unit "a" supports naval unit "b" against naval unit "c", then an attack of "c" on "a" cannot break the support against itself and "c" will need to retreat.

However, if "c" convoys an army into "a", technically it is a unit from an non-attacked region that is attacking a supporting unit, thus converting the support command into a hold command, meaning we now have 1 vs 1 with "b" and "c", meaning "c" is not dislodged and can therefor legally convoy the army (which will bounce back to its original position, assuming no other units are supporting its movement).

Is that correct? Or will the 2 vs 1 naval situation be considered first, thus dislodging "c" and canceling the convoy?
idoido
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 06 Apr 2008, 11:13
Location: Vienna, Austria (where the beer is even better than in Cheshire!)
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Convoy to break support

Postby behnam » 16 May 2008, 18:17

This is a special case listed in the rules. The navy will be dislodged first. The army will never be convoyed to cut the support.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Convoy to break support

Postby Spitfire » 16 May 2008, 20:12

behnam is correct.

I usually think of attacks in two stages, normal first, then convoyed. if they clash, you do normal first. Same as a sum with a multiplication sign and addition sign. there's a specific order.
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron