Page 1 of 1

NMR / auto-surrender question

PostPosted: 14 Jan 2018, 19:51
by diplofan
I have a couple questions about NMR process and how auto-surrender is implemented. Take this scenario for a given power:

S1901M
orders received and resolved, 1SC taken
S1901R
no retreat required
F1901M
all units hold
F1901R
no retreat required
F1901B
build order received and resolved
S1901M
all units hold

1) if a power NMR's is any notice given to the other powers that NMR hold orders are being processed?

2) the way I understand the rules, in the above scenario, the power NMR'd in two consecutive phases and would auto-surrender, unless the power actually entered at least some units to hold for at least one of the two seasons. Since the power did not auto-surrender, then I can conclude they must have ordered at least some units to hold at least once.

Thanks in advance.

Re: NMR / auto-surrender question

PostPosted: 14 Jan 2018, 21:12
by gareth66
1. Depends on the game setting. If the game has NMR protection set, then any NMR will result in a notification in the shoutbox together with a deadline extension. Without NMR Protection, you will only find out about NMRs in the event of two in a row leading to an auto-surrender.

2. Again, depends on game settings. If NMR protection is set, then a player will be auto-surrendered for any second NMR in the game (does not have to be consecutive). Without NMR protection, as you say, two consecutive NMRs will result in an auto-surrender. Remember, though, that only Orders phases count. S01 Orders and F01 Orders phases, for example, are consecutive from the point of view of NMRs. Orders not entered in a Retreat or Build phase will not contribute to an auto-surrender. (But orders ENTERED during one of those phases WILL break the consecutive sequence if the Orders phases either side were NMRs).

For example:
S01 Orders NMR, S01 Retreat NMR, F01 Orders entered does not result in an auto-surrender.
S01 Orders NMR, S01 Retreat Orders entered, F01 NMR does not result in an auto-surrender.
S01 Orders NMR, S01 Retreat no orders to enter, F01 NMR results in an auto-surrender.

The above only applies in a game without NMR protection. With NMR protection, any S01 NMR results in the removal of the player (by auto-surrender) and the game returning to Awaiting Players.

Finally, in response to your question about what constitutes an NMR, it is when no orders are entered for any unit. If a single unit has an order entered for it (even if that order is to HOLD) then the player does not NMR.

Re: NMR / auto-surrender question

PostPosted: 14 Jan 2018, 21:42
by diplofan
Thank you.