Page 1 of 1

Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 01:47
by dlouhane
For all intents and purposes, pretend there is nothing else on the board.

I have a French fleet in Irish Sea that is ordered to move to Wales
I have a French fleet in the English channel that is ordered to move to London

There is currently an English Fleet(army) in Wales, that is ordered to move to London.

What happens?

If you have The one English and one French trying to go to London, they bounce, which means the English stays in Wales, and the French fleet in the Irish sea cant dislodge it (1v1)

In essence, the English player can guard two places at once?

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 02:13
by V
Yes. It requires England to correctly predict the French moves & achieve the bounce in London. France has alternative successful options (e.g. to support an attack on Wales from Irish Sea) in the example provided. Diplomacy is mainly about diplomacy, but straightforward tactics can also influence the contest.

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 03:46
by ExiledAtHome
Sure this type of event is very common (two units bounce, thus causing a secondary bounce of a unit trying to move into one of the territories one of the units was / still is sitting in).

In your specific scenario, one could just not attempt to move to London, allowing the English fleet in, and then the Irish Sea fleet will move to Wales, leaving two units adjacent to London next turn.

Or move Irish Sea to Liverpool, English Channel to London. Wales cannot block both.

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 03:49
by ExiledAtHome
And this just occured to me, but I hope this is not an active game you're currently in, or at least that the scenario you posited isn't the actually game scenario.

You're not supposed to talk about active games or get tactical / strategic advice, nor are we supposed to give it.

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 04:40
by dlouhane
No. Not an active scenario. I'm trying to understand nuances of rules.

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

PostPosted: 04 Dec 2017, 04:50
by ExiledAtHome
No problem then.