Why can't I build in Berlin?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Why can't I build in Berlin?

Postby LJSLarsson » 19 Nov 2017, 19:23

I recently conquered Berlin and was planning to build a Fleet there this turn, but got the message that I can only build in National Centers. I thought Berlin was one, or have I missed something?

Here's the link to my game. I'm playing as Italy:
http://www.playdiplomacy.com/game_play_ ... _id=136957
LJSLarsson
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2017, 12:01

Re: Why can't I build in Berlin?

Postby super_dipsy » 19 Nov 2017, 19:33

You can only build in YOUR national centres, unless it is a Build Anywhere game in which case you can build in ANY SC you own. When I say your national centres, I mean the ones you started with. So as England you can only ever build in London, Edinburgh or Liverpool. Even if you take Paris or Munich, since they are not your national centres (although you now own them) you cannot build there.
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12135
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (931)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Why can't I build in Berlin?

Postby LJSLarsson » 19 Nov 2017, 21:24

Oh... thanks!

But what happens if you lose all your old National Centers, but still have conquered other Supply Centers?
LJSLarsson
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2017, 12:01

Re: Why can't I build in Berlin?

Postby WHSeward » 19 Nov 2017, 21:40

Then you can't build until you retake your own home centers.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2985
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron