DIAS Versailles?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

DIAS Versailles?

Postby TTBen » 12 Jul 2017, 00:40

How exactly does a draw work in a Versailles game that is DIAS? Does this mean that everyone is always in the draw since no one is ever considered eliminated only dormant? Or does the system automatically kick out people that have neither power active from a vote?
— African Diplomacy 5 -Finished
-- Warring States2 Finished

What next?

PbF Player
—Tournament of Swords Winner
Platinum member of Classicists
Organizer for 2PC Tournament in 2018
Premium Member
Posts: 263
Joined: 09 Feb 2017, 15:40
Location: Texas
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1132
All-game rating: 1910
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: DIAS Versailles?

Postby ColonelApricot » 12 Jul 2017, 04:52

To participate in any draw a player must have at least one active power. In Versailles this may be either the major or minor power.

In the Status window all minor powers (active or inactive) can be selected but only active major powers. Presumably this is to conceal the link between any inactive major and its minor. If a minor becomes inactive it can still be selected as part of the draw proposal but it will have no effect.

As a side-note, the treatment of major and minor powers is inconsistent. All powers should be selectable, whether major or minor, active or inactive. The draw algorithm is obviously perfectly capable to ignore any inactive powers.

Dog of War in ToS
GRU of the Despicables in TTT
User avatar
Posts: 433
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 11:48
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1010
All-game rating: 1400
Timezone: GMT

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest