2 units retreating to the same space

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

2 units retreating to the same space

Postby Dinamo » 10 Jul 2017, 10:56

I was wondering if someone would be able to clarify what happens if 2 units from 2 different countries try to retreat to the same territory after being attacked and dislodged.

Thanks.
Dinamo
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 Jul 2012, 16:09
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1216
All-game rating: 1243
Timezone: GMT+3

Re: 2 units retreating to the same space

Postby Cardlinger » 10 Jul 2017, 11:39

Hi Dinamo:

"If a unit has no legal retreats, or it attempts to retreat to the same province as another unit, it is disbanded."

So both units retreating to the same space are destroyed. One of the odd 'advantages' of PlayDip is the time for retreats and communications - normally in the board game version retreats happen immediately and without discussion; you'll find online you have time if there's a risk of 2 units retreating to the same space to negotiate over accepted retreats.

Best,
Cardlinger
Cardlinger
 
Posts: 237
Joined: 21 May 2015, 21:40
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1093)
All-game rating: (1106)
Timezone: GMT

Re: 2 units retreating to the same space

Postby Dinamo » 10 Jul 2017, 12:01

Thanks. So as I understand it both retreating units will be disbanded.
Dinamo
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 Jul 2012, 16:09
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1216
All-game rating: 1243
Timezone: GMT+3

Re: 2 units retreating to the same space

Postby Iggy » 10 Jul 2017, 13:43

Dinamo wrote:Thanks. So as I understand it both retreating units will be disbanded.

Short answer - yes, both are disbanded.
Iggy
 
Posts: 1007
Joined: 20 Jan 2009, 03:05
Location: Indianapolis
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1187)
All-game rating: (1259)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests