Retreat Question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreat Question

Postby SteveHybrid » 12 Jun 2017, 17:05

Hello everyone,

Quick question regarding the retreat phase;
Check out game # 131823 http://www.playdiplomacy.com/game_play_ ... _id=131823

If Trieste moved into Venice supported by Adriatic Sea and Venice was not supported, this would dislodge Venice and force it to retreat. Can the unit retreat to Piedmont IF during movement phase both Tuss and Marseilies moved there and bounced back to their original territories. I would think yes because the movement phase is over and the territory is empty during the next phase (retreat) so the unit can move into Piedmont. Am I correct to assume this is how the ruling is done?

Would it also be safe to say that if Tuss moved Piedmont uncontested then Venice could retreat into Tuss?

Thanks,
-Steve
User avatar
SteveHybrid
Premium Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 01 May 2017, 03:57
Location: Earth.
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1238)
All-game rating: (767)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Strategus » 12 Jun 2017, 17:30

Can't comment on active games, but you cannot retreat to an "embattled" location. If units bounced in a location in a move phase, the location remains embattled until after retreat.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1573
All-game rating: 1674
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Carebear » 12 Jun 2017, 17:31

By rules, a unit may not retreat into an empty province where a standoff occurred. If you attempt, the unit is destroyed.
Last edited by Carebear on 12 Jun 2017, 17:33, edited 1 time in total.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Strategus » 12 Jun 2017, 17:32

Carebear wrote:By rules, a unit may not retreat into an empty province where a standoff occurred. If you attempt, tree unit is destroyed.

Applies to an army, fleet or a "tree" unit.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1573
All-game rating: 1674
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Carebear » 12 Jun 2017, 17:33

GPD wrote:
Carebear wrote:By rules, a unit may not retreat into an empty province where a standoff occurred. If you attempt, tree unit is destroyed.

Applies to an army, fleet or a "tree" unit.

SA

Swype error.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Retreat Question

Postby StarWatcher009 » 12 Jun 2017, 17:44

Can you retreat to the space of the attacking army if it was convoyed?
Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
User avatar
StarWatcher009
 
Posts: 850
Joined: 26 Dec 2013, 23:43
Location: somewhere
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1406)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat Question

Postby SteveHybrid » 12 Jun 2017, 17:45

Thanks for clarifying the rule.

GPD wrote:Can't comment on active games, but you cannot retreat to an "embattled" location. If units bounced in a location in a move phase, the location remains embattled until after retreat.

I know, I read the rules. I used a game I wasn't even part of. I just searched active games for something that I could use as an example. It has nothing to do with the game I'm asking about.

Thanks again.
-Steve
User avatar
SteveHybrid
Premium Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 01 May 2017, 03:57
Location: Earth.
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1238)
All-game rating: (767)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreat Question

Postby SteveHybrid » 12 Jun 2017, 17:48

Also what about when a unit leaves a space and there was no stand off? In my example like I asked ;

Would it also be safe to say that if Tuss moved Piedmont uncontested then Venice could retreat into Tuss?
-Steve
User avatar
SteveHybrid
Premium Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 01 May 2017, 03:57
Location: Earth.
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1238)
All-game rating: (767)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Strategus » 12 Jun 2017, 17:49

Pleasure to be of swervice.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1573
All-game rating: 1674
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat Question

Postby Strategus » 12 Jun 2017, 17:50

Hybrid wrote:Also what about when a unit leaves a space and there was no stand off? In my example like I asked ;

Would it also be safe to say that if Tuss moved Piedmont uncontested then Venice could retreat into Tuss?

As long as nobody tried to move to a space, and it is vacant, you can retreat to it, as long as you can legally move to it. You can't retreat via a convoy either.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1573
All-game rating: 1674
Timezone: GMT

Next

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron