Page 1 of 1

Does a unit that's attacking hold if it gets attacked?

PostPosted: 09 Jun 2017, 04:21
by Jont828
So I'm playing Diplomacy on another site as Russia and I'm fighting England. I have a fleet in BAR that supports Norway holding, which succeeds. England has a fleet in NWG that attacks Nwy with support from another English fleet in NTH. I ordered Nwy to NTH as to cut support in case he tried to use it to support his way into Den. So since the move from Nwy to NTH failed, I thought Nwy would have just held, and the support from BAR would have kept it holding, but the adjudication software told me that my fleet in Nwy must retreat now. Is this legal?

So to summarize, Russian F Nwy - NTH, Russian F BAR S Nwy H, English F NWG - Nwy, and English F NTH S NWG - Nwy. What should happen? Thanks!

Re: Does a unit that's attacking hold if it gets attacked?

PostPosted: 09 Jun 2017, 04:24
by Zosimus
Your order to support Norway to hold will not correspond, as Norway is moving. So that order will end up being converted into a hold. That's probably not what you wanted. If the fleet in Norway is attacked twice, it will be dislodged.

Re: Does a unit that's attacking hold if it gets attacked?

PostPosted: 09 Jun 2017, 05:06
by JonS
As Zos said, support only works if it corresponds to the orders of the supported unit. In your scenario, Norway was not holding, it was moving. Therefore the support order was invalid and dropped. Even though Norway failed to move, it still tried.

To support a unit to hold, that unit must be ordering either a straight hold or a support order of its own. (I sometimes like to think the full name of a support order to be "hold and support X" for clarity).

Re: Does a unit that's attacking hold if it gets attacked?

PostPosted: 09 Jun 2017, 05:14
by Jont828
Oh, okay I see. I thought that a bounce would cause the unit to hold, and therefore that support would work. Either way, at least I'm in a position where I can retake Nwy next year. :)