A question about draws

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

A question about draws

Postby Shyvve » 05 Jun 2017, 02:19

Hi. I have a question about draw proposals. I tried researching it a bit but haven't had much success finding the answer.

It is my understanding that a power with no units AND no centers does not have a vote on a draw proposal. Is this correct?

Without going into specific detail as the game is ongoing, I will describe the situation.

It is now the Spring turn following the last year's adjustments phase in which country X lost its last center and unit. I proposed a draw AFTER the previous adjustments phase (i.e., once the game had progressed to the current Spring turn). Country X has no units or centers remaining but has voted the draw proposal down, so what gives?
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1337
All-game rating: 1369
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A question about draws

Postby Carebear » 05 Jun 2017, 02:34

My guess is that you are basing this on a Shoutbox message that is a deception.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: A question about draws

Postby Shyvve » 05 Jun 2017, 02:48

Ahh, yes, I had just thought the same thing, CB. Thank you. It is also secret ballot incidentally. When I bring up the status window, the draw proposal does indeed appear to be still active as a date for expiry remains.

EDIT:
Here is what is displayed in the Shoutbox. I so should have noticed that "Country X" had posted the message attempting to pass it off as a legitimate ADMIN message! I'm sure it's a very old trick but one I hadn't yet seen. Sorry for the bother.

"Country X (Spring 1905, Jun 04 2017 19:07 (GMT-6))
ADMIN: Current draw proposal rejected by Country X"
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1337
All-game rating: 1369
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A question about draws

Postby Shyvve » 05 Jun 2017, 03:12

LOL. The kicker is this was an anonymous countries game too, so I have now inadvertently revealed my identity also! Suffrin' succotash.

Sigh...so much yet to learn.
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1337
All-game rating: 1369
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A question about draws

Postby Carebear » 05 Jun 2017, 03:21

Image
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: A question about draws

Postby Carebear » 05 Jun 2017, 03:23

Don't be the Coyote...
Image
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests