The orders of a surrendered power

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

The orders of a surrendered power

Postby AlexCrosse » 11 May 2017, 07:40

Hi,

I have a quick query about a surrendered power's orders:

If a player submits and finalizes a set of orders and then surrenders do those orders execute or are those orders discarded and all the surrendered powers units hold?

Many Thanks,

Alex
AlexCrosse
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Nov 2016, 15:46
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby Strategus » 11 May 2017, 08:06

They will be executed.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby AlexCrosse » 11 May 2017, 08:10

Noted! Thanks for the reply.
AlexCrosse
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Nov 2016, 15:46
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby MrShed123 » 11 May 2017, 08:46

Interesting... I suspect this relates to a move I have just witnessed.

Is this the same if the orders are not finalised?
MrShed123
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 14:02
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1176)
All-game rating: (1243)
Timezone: GMT

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby Strategus » 11 May 2017, 08:48

Yes. If the orders are entered, they will execute.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby gareth66 » 11 May 2017, 09:18

This must be one of the most commonly asked questions in forum. As has been said, neither the surrender nor finalising makes any difference. Any orders entered are carried out irrespective of surrender, and just as with any other set of orders, finalising is nothing to do with what orders are carried out. The only thing to add to what has already been said is that another player can take up the position, and if they do so before the move processes they can change or cancel any orders entered.
User avatar
gareth66
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3523
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 18:09
Location: Uk (North Midlands)
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1485)
All-game rating: (1638)
Timezone: GMT

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby UsernamePending » 11 May 2017, 21:22

If a player picks up the game and doesn't change the orders at all or finalize them, does it count as a NMR?
I'm just a nob that played Diplomacy as a kid. Don't mind me. No, I don't have 17 centers. Don't look at me like that.
UsernamePending
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 02:09
Location: Why do you want to know? o_o
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1031)
All-game rating: (1042)
Timezone: GMT

Re: The orders of a surrendered power

Postby WHSeward » 11 May 2017, 22:14

If an order is entered, it is not an NMR. You don't have to change an order to avoid an NMR, your power just has to make an order (or finalize).
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest