Retreat: Bounce vs Dislodge

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreat: Bounce vs Dislodge

Postby bfausty » 02 May 2017, 00:02

My apologies if this has already been covered. In regards to retreating, is a territory someone was prevented from traveling to because they were dislodged considered a contested territory in the same way that a territory where a bounce happened is considered a contested territory?

Fleet in Spain attempted to move to West Med, but got dislodged by an attack
from West Med to Spain. Tunis got dislodged by an attack from Ionian. No one ended up in West Med so could Tunis go there?

Thanks!
bfausty
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Aug 2014, 21:11
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat: Bounce vs Dislodge

Postby V » 02 May 2017, 00:11

That retreat will work fine. The attempt made by Spain is irrelevant. Enjoy.
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
V
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1718
All-game rating: 1754
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Retreat: Bounce vs Dislodge

Postby Shyvve » 02 May 2017, 00:27

It is also worthwhile to note that:

"A dislodged unit, even with support, has no effect on the province that dislodged it."

So, in this case, F Spa-Wes would have had no effect on the province Wes during the movement phase also. Had another unit moved to Wes it would have succeeded if not otherwise prevented by the action of other units.
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 382
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1360
All-game rating: 1392
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest