Supports and takeovers

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: ... 13&t=42845

Supports and takeovers

Postby samlaskin » 29 Apr 2017, 01:06

If a unit is occupying a supply center that is owned by another country, can it support another unit and still take over the supply center?

This is winter by the way
Example: Turkey Army in Moscow (currently belonging to Russia) supports Turkish Army Ukraine to Warsaw
Will the unit in Moscow still take over the supply center, even though it is supporting another unit?
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Feb 2017, 06:12
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Supports and takeovers

Postby WHSeward » 29 Apr 2017, 01:09

Yes. In order to take control of an SC, you must occupy the SC at the end of a fall turn. It does not matter how the unit occupying the SC ordered. Indeed, a unit could even retreat into an SC during fall retreats and take control of an SC that way.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2993
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest