Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Postby coble » 19 Apr 2017, 03:07

Italy's move is Portugal -> Spain (n.c.) with support from Marseilles.
The only other thing moving into Spain is Gascony, with no support.
However, Italy is simultaneously moving out of Spain (s.c.) into Portugal.

Here's an excerpt from Orders Resolutions:

ITALY
Spain (South Coast) MOVE Portugal -> Bounced
Marseilles SUPPORT Portugal to Spain (North Coast) -> Supported unit has failed
Portugal MOVE Spain (North Coast) -> Bounced

GERMANY
Gascony MOVE Spain -> Bounced
coble
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Apr 2010, 23:33
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (958)
All-game rating: (952)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Postby WHSeward » 19 Apr 2017, 03:12

You cannot have two units switch places. It does not matter that they are going to / from different coasts, you are still trying to have Por and Spa switch positions and that is not a legal order so the units bounce.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Postby Charleroi » 19 Apr 2017, 03:38

The 'switcheroo' is only possible using a convoy. For example, the following orders would succeed:

A Por-->Sp
F MAO Convoy A Por-->Sp
F Sp (SC) -->Por
Mar S Por-->Sp
Charleroi
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1648
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Postby Mr.E » 19 Apr 2017, 08:02

The confusion may also be over one unit being supported while the other isn't. So Por-Spa(nc) has support from Marseilles while Spa(sc)-Por is unsupported.

If these were units from different powers, for instance Por was French and Spain was Italian, it would work. However, in the example they are both Italian.

The rules state that you can't dislodge your own units. So it doesn't matter that one unit is moving with a force of two and one with a force of one.

And, as has been said, units can't switch spaces, no matter if one is on one coast and another on moving to the other coast. Units on a coast occupy the whole space, regardless.
Respect neither opinions nor beliefs; only respect the person and the right to express them.
Play by the rules but be ferocious.
User avatar
Mr.E
Premium Member
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 09:27
Location: Yorkshire
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 966
All-game rating: 1134
Timezone: GMT

Re: Error in the Order Resolver? Nope

Postby coble » 21 Apr 2017, 05:09

Thanks for the clarification, everyone.
coble
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Apr 2010, 23:33
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (958)
All-game rating: (952)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest