Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby The French Tickler » 31 Mar 2017, 18:12

So I read that for a unit to support a hold, it only has to be adjacent to the territory that is being supported. So can a fleet on a coastal territory support an adjacent inland army to hold?
The French Tickler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 01:22
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby Carebear » 31 Mar 2017, 18:15

The French Tickler wrote:So I read that for a unit to support a hold, it only has to be adjacent to the territory that is being supported. So can a fleet on a coastal territory support an adjacent inland army to hold?

It also needs to be able to MOVE to that province. If it cannot move there, it cannot provide support there.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby sock » 31 Mar 2017, 18:58

For example, a fleet can't go from Mar to Pied and support Venice from an attack.
Live a little. Laugh a lot.

Gold member, Classicists
User avatar
sock
 
Posts: 1558
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 04:35
Location: Jersey Shore
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1149)
All-game rating: (1212)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby Guns of Brixton » 31 Mar 2017, 19:33

But note that the requirement is that the unit would be able to move to the province. If the province has two coast lines (Spa, StP or Bul) then a fleet adjacent to one coastline can support a fleet on or moving to the other even if the supporting fleet would not be able to reach that other coastline. (e.g. F Rum S F Aeg-Bul(sc) is a legal support order but F Bul(sc) S Bla-Rum is not legal because the Bulgarian fleet would not be able to legally move to Rum.
Platinum Classicist
Mentor
User avatar
Guns of Brixton
 
Posts: 676
Joined: 18 Feb 2013, 00:53
Location: SW London
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1580)
All-game rating: (1622)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby sock » 01 Apr 2017, 03:02

Guns of Brixton wrote:But note that the requirement is that the unit would be able to move to the province. If the province has two coast lines (Spa, StP or Bul) then a fleet adjacent to one coastline can support a fleet on or moving to the other even if the supporting fleet would not be able to reach that other coastline. (e.g. F Rum S F Aeg-Bul(sc) is a legal support order but F Bul(sc) S Bla-Rum is not legal because the Bulgarian fleet would not be able to legally move to Rum.


Hmmm, that sounds familiar.
Last edited by sock on 01 Apr 2017, 03:04, edited 1 time in total.
Live a little. Laugh a lot.

Gold member, Classicists
User avatar
sock
 
Posts: 1558
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 04:35
Location: Jersey Shore
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1149)
All-game rating: (1212)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can a fleet support an inland army to hold?

Postby Jack007 » 01 Apr 2017, 09:04

Well, to be exact, a fleet CAN support an inland army to hold, but an inland army CANNOT be supported to hold by a fleet.

:ugeek:
Jack007 (xxxx.) unbanned for dubious reasons
Member of the Honorables
There is no greater solitude than the samurai's,
unless it be that of the tiger in the jungle… perhaps…
-bushido
User avatar
Jack007
Premium Member
 
Posts: 967
Joined: 08 Mar 2014, 17:34
Location: Liverpool (Macclesfield) ⛵ Instagram jack060856
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1410
All-game rating: 1685
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest