Swapping units

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Re: Swapping units

Postby edmgrim » 09 Mar 2017, 02:17

WHSeward wrote:As edmigrim, writes, the short answer is "no".

But there is a longer answer. With a convoy, you can accomplish a swap as follows:
F MAO c A Spa-Por
F Por-Spa (whichever coast)

Those are legal and effects the swap.

Realize that you are using three units to effect the movement, though.

(Aside, I love it when I see "effects" used correctly!)
edmgrim
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 31 May 2016, 04:15
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1077)
All-game rating: (1086)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Swapping units

Postby Joolesy » 09 Mar 2017, 06:50

Lol
He who arises to kill you, arise earlier and kill him first.
User avatar
Joolesy
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 20:18
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1002)
Timezone: GMT-7

Previous

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests