Defense question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Defense question

Postby Bopper3000 » 19 Feb 2017, 03:17

If I were to have a unit press hold, and a unit support the hold behind it, and a unit from another team attacks, would that unit die?
Bopper3000
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Feb 2017, 03:15
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Defense question

Postby numberwang1 » 19 Feb 2017, 03:33

If you have a hypothetical army in Spain supported to hold by a unit in Portugal, and an army from Gascony attacked your Spain, the attack would fail. Spain has a strength of 2 (1 support + 1 hold) the attack from Gascony has a strength of 1 (1 move to Spain). But the only time a unit dies automatically is when it cannot retreat. In this case Gascony would just remain in Gascony.
Platinum Member of the Classicists
User avatar
numberwang1
 
Posts: 436
Joined: 08 Dec 2013, 01:04
Location: chicago
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1187)
All-game rating: (1329)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Defense question

Postby condude1 » 19 Feb 2017, 07:13

Also note that the support is not necessary in this situation. One unit cannot dislodge another without support, so unless you were expecting the enemy to support themselves into your territory, leaving a unit without support is just fine.
Telleo wrote:I don't think I've ever met someone who more perfectly embodied Chaotic Neutral than Condude1.


Moderator of the Mafia Subforums!

Silver member of The Classicists!
User avatar
condude1
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 03:41
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1368)
All-game rating: (1307)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest