Retreat or Destroy

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreat or Destroy

Postby Tiz » 12 Feb 2017, 11:47

A fleet moves into Tunis in Spring and is then dislodged in the Fall .. If it is elected to be destroyed instead of retreated do you get a build if you have not gone down in SC's?
Tiz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 23:48
Location: Brisrol, England
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (837)
All-game rating: (846)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat or Destroy

Postby Cardlinger » 12 Feb 2017, 12:39

This is confusingly worded...

If the fleet is dislodged in the fall then some other nation has moved in and conquered Tunis. and, supply centers are counted at the end of the Fall phase.

So in answer to what I think your question is: if you elect to destroy it, you won't get Tunis as a SC to count towards build(s) in the winter as some other nation has taken it in Fall (and that is when SCs are counted).

Best,
Cardlinger
Cardlinger
 
Posts: 237
Joined: 21 May 2015, 21:40
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1093)
All-game rating: (1106)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat or Destroy

Postby Strategus » 12 Feb 2017, 12:48

The simple way to understand this is that in the build phase, count the number of units you have in play. Any destroyed units don't count (as they are no longer in play). If you have more supply centres than units in play, you will get builds to make up the difference. You will be able to build if you have a vacant home supply centre.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat or Destroy

Postby Tiz » 12 Feb 2017, 13:10

If I destroy I will have more centres than CS's so will get a build answers my question ... thanks to those who replied :)
Tiz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 23:48
Location: Brisrol, England
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (837)
All-game rating: (846)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat or Destroy

Postby Cardlinger » 12 Feb 2017, 18:41

Tiz wrote:If I destroy I will have more centres than CS's so will get a build answers my question ... thanks to those who replied :)


Got it. GPD makes the good point you have to have one vacant, and owned, home supply center in order to build (unless you are playing the "build anywhere" variant). Bear that in mind too!

Best,
Cardlinger
Cardlinger
 
Posts: 237
Joined: 21 May 2015, 21:40
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1093)
All-game rating: (1106)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests