Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewhere

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewhere

Postby Warwick » 01 Dec 2016, 19:18

Is it possible to get a build point by destroying one of your retreating units?
I have an opponent that has his three home supply centers with two units on them. He had two other units elsewhere that had to retreat. Instead of retreating he destroyed both of them in order to build in his home province. Can't find it in the rules but it seems wrong because it effectively allows him to teleport a unit two - three provinces away.
Will that work?
Thank you.
Warwick
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 19:41
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1103)
All-game rating: (1114)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby ThomM » 01 Dec 2016, 19:22

Yes.
That's always been part of the game.
ThomM
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 06:20
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1231)
All-game rating: (1253)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby marsman57 » 01 Dec 2016, 19:26

Indeed. This is why sometimes when you have an opponent who has overcommited on a unit type (has like 7 fleets logjammed and 3 armies struggling), it is best to not try to dislodge their units if doing so doesn't gain you an SC. You don't want them to build a more useful unit elsewhere.

In one forum game on this site, I was in a losing position and made an agreement with a player to dislodge 6 or 7 of my units and I destroyed them all and completely redeployed them on a different front immediately (this was a "world" variant where there were more than the usual number of build centers).
marsman57
 
Posts: 1474
Joined: 05 Oct 2009, 21:42
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1118
All-game rating: 1128
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby AngelEyesGBU » 01 Dec 2016, 19:29

Yes. See Rod Walker's "The Gamer's Guide to Diplomacy," ~ 1971, p. 9, Section 8, Part 3, "Rapid Retreat Home."
Gold member of the Classicists
Angel Eyes: But you know the pity is when I'm paid, I always follow my job through.
Tuco: When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
Blondie: You see, in this world there's two kinds of people, my friend: Those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig.
User avatar
AngelEyesGBU
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 29 Sep 2008, 04:09
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1074)
All-game rating: (1059)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby Eleusinian » 01 Dec 2016, 19:46

It even makes sense from a story perspective. You can imagine a leader cutting off supplies to an embattled division on a faraway front, essentially leaving them to die or surrender, so that he can divert those resources to a new division back home. Don't think of it as a unit teleporting, think of it as trains and ships bringing supplies to different soldiers.
Eleusinian
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 21:38
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (984)
All-game rating: (981)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby Bromley86 » 01 Dec 2016, 19:52

A very unusual choice by Turkey. By and large, we don't discuss ongoing games, but there's no harm in saying that Rum could have retreated to Ser. He'd still have got his rebuild this turn in Smy, but he'd have had a much better chance of retaking Bul.

@Eleusinian. Not entirely convinced that the supplies saved keeping a previously existing army in the field would be enough to equip and train a new one. And the less said about battleships, the better :) .
A member of the Classicists, a group that aims to reduce NMRs/surrenders.
Bromley86
 
Posts: 503
Joined: 02 May 2012, 00:16
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1880)
All-game rating: (2233)
Timezone: GMT+12

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby The SHIV » 01 Dec 2016, 20:20

LMFAO......there are 2 guys of spurs my friend......

The Shiv
First..........get off my lawn! Second........it's an Admirals Cheesehead! Courtesy of The Craw. Third.....I am SHIV, Keeper of the Stone Tablets! Go Pack!
User avatar
The SHIV
Premium Member
 
Posts: 3137
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 20:29
Location: Sailing somewhere in the Rockies on the Black Pearl but originally a Yooper!
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1136
All-game rating: 1109
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby Eleusinian » 01 Dec 2016, 21:48

Bromley, well obviously the battleships themselves do teleport. ;-)
Eleusinian
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 21:38
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (984)
All-game rating: (981)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby Carebear » 01 Dec 2016, 22:03

Eleusinian wrote:Bromley, well obviously the battleships themselves do teleport. ;-)

Well, yeah, they can.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Question...Destroy a retreating unit to rebuild elsewher

Postby The SHIV » 07 Dec 2016, 01:58

Damn vodka and spell check! "There are 2 kinds of spurs my friend" (tuco).....not "guys".
Lol

Shiv
First..........get off my lawn! Second........it's an Admirals Cheesehead! Courtesy of The Craw. Third.....I am SHIV, Keeper of the Stone Tablets! Go Pack!
User avatar
The SHIV
Premium Member
 
Posts: 3137
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 20:29
Location: Sailing somewhere in the Rockies on the Black Pearl but originally a Yooper!
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1136
All-game rating: 1109
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest