Another Bulgaria question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Another Bulgaria question

Postby Hyakari » 08 May 2008, 17:59

Constantinople MOVE Bulgaria (East Coast)
Greece SUPPORT Constantinople to Bulgaria (East Coast)

Is the Greece support legal or not?

Thx
All war represents a failure of diplomacy. Tony Benn
User avatar
Hyakari
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 22:31
Location: Belgium
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby Spitfire » 08 May 2008, 18:15

Good question,

My immediate assumption is yes, but I could be wrong. You better let someone else answer.

The reason I think yes is simple, the rules say if the unit can move into the territory, (not the specific coast). Then you can support.
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby mdmuff » 08 May 2008, 20:30

Is the supporting unit a fleet or an army?

Because an army can move into Bulgaria, thus it can support either coast.

A fleet in Greece can only move to the sourthern coast, so it should not be able to support a movement into the eastern coast, if I am thinking logically about the situation... would have to have someone check the rulebook for certain, but I do believe I have had this discussion before on this site...
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby behnam » 09 May 2008, 02:13

A unit only needs to be able to move into that territory, so the coast is irrelevant, as is the type of unit (army/fleet).

The answer is that the support is legal.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby bitwise » 09 May 2008, 10:12

What about this case?

Fleet in GAS and fleet in POR
F POR - SPA(sc)
F GAS S F POR - SPA(sc)

Would the support from GAS be invalid, as it can't move to SPA(sc) itself?
User avatar
bitwise
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: 18 Feb 2008, 14:46
Location: Denmark
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1002)
All-game rating: (1299)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby bitwise » 09 May 2008, 10:20

bitwise wrote:What about this case?

Fleet in GAS and fleet in POR
F POR - SPA(sc)
F GAS S F POR - SPA(sc)

Would the support from GAS be invalid, as it can't move to SPA(sc) itself?


Just tried it in Realpolitik, and the support is indeed valid. Well, I'm off to change some orders then :D
User avatar
bitwise
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: 18 Feb 2008, 14:46
Location: Denmark
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1002)
All-game rating: (1299)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby behnam » 09 May 2008, 16:44

bitwise wrote:Would the support from GAS be invalid, as it can't move to SPA(sc) itself?


behnam wrote:A unit only needs to be able to move into that territory, so the coast is irrelevant, as is the type of unit (army/fleet).
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Another Bulgaria question

Postby Spitfire » 12 May 2008, 02:37

"Because a fleet in Marseilles may move to Spain, although only to the south coast, it may nevertheless support an action anywhere in Spain, even if the action is an order to a fleet to move to, or to hold in, Spain (North coast). It should be clear that the converse is not true: a fleet in Spain (north coast) cannot support an action in or into Marseilles, becuase it cannot move to Marseilles at all in a single move."

Page three, 1971 Rule Book.

(The official wording for what we've discussed)
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests