Page 1 of 2

North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 31 Jan 2008, 01:29
by TheBrumble
Can a troop on North Africa go to Spain without convoy? I have never played this way, but it happened in a game i was playing. Is this a glitch or the actual rules?

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 31 Jan 2008, 02:51
by mdmuff
IIRC and by looking at the map, there is a body of water (or two actually that meet) between Spain & N. Africa, likely a glitch as you shouldn't be able to move from one to the other with an army without a convoy

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 31 Jan 2008, 10:05
by Avalanche
Can you tell us the game name, phase and country?

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 01 Feb 2008, 19:30
by infinity8ball
It has happened in multiple games that I've played in.

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 02 Feb 2008, 01:07
by homefree1957
It happened in a game called "Chess Fanatics" in the Fall 1902 turn. Italy moved from North Africa to the Southern Coast of Spain with no convoy help.

This is a bug, as this move is not legal in Diplomacy.

P.S. infinity8ball: Please specify a specific game ID and turn ID when reporting bugs and questions of this kind -- one specific example is far more helpful than saying, "It's happened several times." A specific case really helps the software developer pinpoint the problem, and increases the chances that the problem will be taken seriously and fixed. I'm not speaking for PlayDiplomacy.com, but I'm a software developer and I know how this goes.

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 04 Feb 2008, 00:00
by Avalanche
Thanks homefree ;)

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2008, 08:45
by Phillips
Rats, I had it used against me twice. When I asked, everyone in the game seemed to agree it was allowed... so in another game, I've just set up the prep-work to this "new rule".

Oh well.

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 20 Feb 2008, 22:08
by infinity8ball
I was in chess fanatics when it happened. It has also happened in "Standard Diplomacy" in the Fall 1904 turn. Sorry for being vague.

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 20 Feb 2008, 23:05
by Avalanche
It's being fixed at the moment.

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

PostPosted: 24 Feb 2008, 21:04
by Luke
Is it fixed yet or can I do it in a game? Crucial that I know.