North Afriac->Spain....

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

North Afriac->Spain....

Postby TheBrumble » 31 Jan 2008, 01:29

Can a troop on North Africa go to Spain without convoy? I have never played this way, but it happened in a game i was playing. Is this a glitch or the actual rules?
TheBrumble
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
All-game rating: 3597
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby mdmuff » 31 Jan 2008, 02:51

IIRC and by looking at the map, there is a body of water (or two actually that meet) between Spain & N. Africa, likely a glitch as you shouldn't be able to move from one to the other with an army without a convoy
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby Avalanche » 31 Jan 2008, 10:05

Can you tell us the game name, phase and country?
User avatar
Avalanche
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 13:00
Location: Malta (Ionian Sea)
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (955)
All-game rating: (1013)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby infinity8ball » 01 Feb 2008, 19:30

It has happened in multiple games that I've played in.
User avatar
infinity8ball
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 2174
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby homefree1957 » 02 Feb 2008, 01:07

It happened in a game called "Chess Fanatics" in the Fall 1902 turn. Italy moved from North Africa to the Southern Coast of Spain with no convoy help.

This is a bug, as this move is not legal in Diplomacy.

P.S. infinity8ball: Please specify a specific game ID and turn ID when reporting bugs and questions of this kind -- one specific example is far more helpful than saying, "It's happened several times." A specific case really helps the software developer pinpoint the problem, and increases the chances that the problem will be taken seriously and fixed. I'm not speaking for PlayDiplomacy.com, but I'm a software developer and I know how this goes.
homefree1957
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby Avalanche » 04 Feb 2008, 00:00

Thanks homefree ;)
User avatar
Avalanche
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 13:00
Location: Malta (Ionian Sea)
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (955)
All-game rating: (1013)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby Phillips » 13 Feb 2008, 08:45

Rats, I had it used against me twice. When I asked, everyone in the game seemed to agree it was allowed... so in another game, I've just set up the prep-work to this "new rule".

Oh well.
Phillips
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby infinity8ball » 20 Feb 2008, 22:08

I was in chess fanatics when it happened. It has also happened in "Standard Diplomacy" in the Fall 1904 turn. Sorry for being vague.
User avatar
infinity8ball
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 2174
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby Avalanche » 20 Feb 2008, 23:05

It's being fixed at the moment.
User avatar
Avalanche
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: 16 Jan 2008, 13:00
Location: Malta (Ionian Sea)
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (955)
All-game rating: (1013)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: North Afriac->Spain....

Postby Luke » 24 Feb 2008, 21:04

Is it fixed yet or can I do it in a game? Crucial that I know.
Luke
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Feb 2008, 18:29
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Next

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kasama and 1 guest