supporting a supporter?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

supporting a supporter?

Postby LordHaHa » 01 May 2008, 00:05

If country a is supporting country b, can country c support country a in what would basically be a hold?
For example, BUD attacks GAL, VIE supports BUD>GAL.
Can Tyrolia support Vienna? Meaning that if Vienna is attacked, it will be the attackers against the two--Vienna and Tyrolia? Or is the fact that Vie is supporting another country keep Vienna from being supported like it was simply holding?
LordHaHa
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 20 Mar 2008, 00:56
Location: North Carolina, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby mdmuff » 01 May 2008, 04:13

You can support a supporter. Only if a unit is moving and/or attacking can you not support it to hold.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby Master Radishes » 01 May 2008, 08:50

Just to elaborate on mdmuff's answer:

Basically, support only works if the unit is staying where it is. Whether it is holding, or supporting another unit's attack, as long as it doesn't move from its spot (even if bounced) then it can be supported. So in your situation, yes, Vienna can be supported.

However, if it were Vienna moving to Galicia, then Tyrolia's support would not apply, even if Vienna bounces right back. The fact that it theoretically moves nulls any support for it to hold.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby Kunclunk » 02 May 2008, 15:18

LordHaHa wrote:If country a is supporting country b, can country c support country a in what would basically be a hold?
For example, BUD attacks GAL, VIE supports BUD>GAL.
Can Tyrolia support Vienna? Meaning that if Vienna is attacked, it will be the attackers against the two--Vienna and Tyrolia? Or is the fact that Vie is supporting another country keep Vienna from being supported like it was simply holding?


I think, the question is, when Vienna is being attacked (by only one unit), will the Vienna support to BUD>GAL be cut?
it's been too long since the last time i went solo
User avatar
Kunclunk
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Singapore and Indonesia
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby Kunclunk » 02 May 2008, 15:28

Let's see this situation:

Austria:
A Budapest MOVE Galicia
A Vienna SUPPORT Budapest to Galicia
A Tyrolia SUPPORT Vienna to hold

Russia:
A Bohemia MOVE Vienna
A Galicia HOLD

If Austria doesn't put "Tyrolia SUPPORT Vienna to hold", then everything will bounce back.
Since there is "Tyrolia SUPPORT Vienna to hold", will the Tyrolia counter attack the "A Bohemia MOVE Vienna", so "Vienna SUPPORT Budapest to Galicia" is still valid. and Galicia will fall to Austria.
it's been too long since the last time i went solo
User avatar
Kunclunk
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Singapore and Indonesia
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby mdmuff » 02 May 2008, 18:01

IIRC, the support from Vienna is still cut. It doesn't matter if it is supported in it's hold, that only effects it's position not the support it is offering. In the scenario described, they would all bounce and nobody would take anything.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: supporting a supporter?

Postby salan » 03 May 2008, 19:19

and that is why when people say diplomacy is so simple that I laugh so much... this game be complex!
salan
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 22 Apr 2008, 10:02
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests