Page 1 of 1

Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 30 Jan 2008, 13:45
by w123
Does anyone know how I would write something like this?

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 30 Jan 2008, 19:33
by Balsiefen
In the game?

click on each of the ships you want to use and select convoy then click on the two places you want to move the unit from and to. then click the unit and tell it to move to the place you are convoying it to.

EG: to move from clyde to st petersburg
Norwegen sea convoy clyde->st petersburg
Barents sea convoy clyde->st petersburg
Clyde move st petersberg

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 01 Feb 2008, 02:09
by Master Radishes
One time, just one time, I want to see this set of moves:

Syria MOVE St. Petersburg
East Mediterranean CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
Ionian Sea CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
Tyrhennian Sea CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
West Mediterranean CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
Mid Atlantic CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
North Atlantic CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
Norwegian Sea CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.
Barents Sea CONVOY Syria to St Petersburg.

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 01 Feb 2008, 04:00
by mdmuff
Wow

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2008, 13:27
by Andrew Turner
Master Radishes: I think we'll see an Army in Moscow convoy a Fleet from Sevastopol to St Petersburg before we see that... ;)

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2008, 22:22
by clagr
There is another situation which would be a rule conflict to watch out for:

If a unit can be convoyed by more than one route, and both of those routes have convoy orders for that unit, the unit will not be able to be moved unless the unit specified by which route it was to be convoyed. (This came up in a F-t-F national tourament I attended eons ago.)

For example:

A Edi - Nwy
F Nth C A Edi - Nwy
F Nwg C A Edi - Nwy

:shock: Was ruled a failure for A Edi - Nwy when F Nth was dislodged and the convoy route was not specified by A Edi

Clagr :roll:

Re: Convoying with more than one ship

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2008, 06:55
by revans
In the updated rules posted by Avalon Hill it says that the convoy would go through. They've tried to clarify those grey areas.

http://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/diplomacy.pdf

page 15

A national tournament, that must have been fun to play.