Quick question about the board game

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Quick question about the board game

Postby benyam the great » 26 Dec 2014, 06:01

I just bought the board game off ebay a few weeks ago and me and my buddys irl have been playing it a lot lately, but we always run into the same issue we don't know the answer to.

Say I start in Italy and capture a few in Germany, but I lost all my spots in Italy. Can I no longer get new pieces? If I could, how would that work?
benyam the great
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jan 2014, 02:25
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Quick question about the board game

Postby Fatmo » 26 Dec 2014, 06:29

If you are playing the game according to the classic written rules, then no, you can't build anything if all your home centers are taken. According to the rules, you have to build in your home supply centers. Even if you have five centers and three units, you can't actually build until you take back at least one of your home centers and vacate it before a future build phase.

However, there are people who play a variant called "build anywhere," where you can build in any vacant center you own.
You don't know what I'm thinking...because I don't know what I'm doing.

Conq wrote:Fatmo — you are a relentless mountain stream, ever-flowing, slowly but surely carving away at the rock face below.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjEgjTfcEJk
User avatar
Fatmo
 
Posts: 4125
Joined: 04 Oct 2010, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1089)
All-game rating: (1050)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Quick question about the board game

Postby Pedros » 26 Dec 2014, 11:13

Moving this Q&A to Rules, where it belongs.
"Sooner or later, one of us will stab the other. But for now we're both better off as allies" (kininvie)
User avatar
Pedros
 
Posts: 12465
Joined: 25 Jan 2009, 12:59
Location: Somewhere full of gorse and brambles, West Cornwall
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1085)
All-game rating: (1314)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest