Page 4 of 4

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2014, 08:32
by super_dipsy
petermcnamara wrote:I don't think that this is very well known, but there is an online adjudicator at Stabbeurfou http://www.stabbeurfou.org/Interrogation.php where any set of moves can be adjucated (maybe this fact could be advertised somewhere).

Good suggestion; another is JDip. However, it is worth remembering that these tools may not give the same result as PlayDip does - some tools do not handle all the rules properly, and there are also possible differences in the ways the rules are handled where they are silent / ambiguous. Our PlayDip resolution of the latter set of cases (the ones where the rules do not cope or we deviate from them) can be found here http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=646&t=41661.

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 17 Nov 2015, 01:01
by rommel360
Hi, so not exactly related, but fleets still confuse me. Can navies take regions? For example can a navy in the Gulf of Bothnia take Sweden? Or can it only be done in the Baltic or Skagerrak? Or not at all? Any clarification would be appreciated.

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 17 Nov 2015, 01:03
by WHSeward
Fleets can move to any adjacent coastal province and can capture SCs in coastal provinces by occupying them at the end of a fall turn.

The answer is, yes, F GoB can move to Swe as could F Ska or F Bal.

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 17 Aug 2016, 18:51
by appleseedy
Is it correct that you cant force a retreat on your own unit?

Example England has as fleet in the north sea Edinburgh and London

Nrt Hold
Lon - Nrt
Edi support Lon - Nrt

will the North sea retreat or will it bounce the attack?

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 17 Aug 2016, 19:32
by WHSeward
That is correct. You cannot dislodge your own unit, nor may you cut your own support. If you attempt to dislodge your own unit, the move is a bounce. (That is not to say that attacking your own unit is pointless. It can be a smart defensive tactic.)

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2016, 19:45
by WiseJazzer
This is very helpful, however I still have this question:

Can I counter or avoid my enemies from cutting my own support?

Say I am Turkey and have armies in Ukr, Sev, Bul, and Con, and a fleet in Black sea. I order Ukr A to Rum, and support it from Sev, Bul and Black sea.
My enemy has armies in Rum, Bud, Ser and Gre. I can expect he will hold Rum and support hold with Bud and Ser.
With that I would succeed in my move as it would be 4 vs 3. But I can expect he will cut support from Gre A to Bul.

My question is can I avoid my support being cut with my army in Con? Will support still be cut if I order Con support hold to Bul? Will support still be cut if I order Con to move to Bul?

Thanks

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2016, 20:45
by super_dipsy
Support is ALWAYS cut if you are attacked from any location other than the one you are supporting into. It does not even matter if the attacker is dislodged by another attack; the mere act of the attack is enough.

Re: 22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2016, 20:52
by WiseJazzer
Very well then. Thanks