Support a bounced unit.

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: ... 13&t=42845

Support a bounced unit.

Postby Hovring » 26 Mar 2008, 15:01


I have a unit in A and want to cut a support in B, but in order to keep A I need support from C

So if I order my units to do the following:
A - B (bounce)
C support A to hold

Will the support from C to A work even if it is supporting a unit that bounced?

Thx for all answers.
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Feb 2008, 14:05
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Support a bounced unit.

Postby behnam » 26 Mar 2008, 20:51

No. If you are ordering C support A hold, then A must hold. It can't attack anything.

A can support another unit doing something, but because it was never ordered to move anywhere, it is considered a hold.

This would NOT work:
A attack B (bounce)
C support A hold


This WOULD work:
A support D attack B
C support A hold
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

User avatar
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests