Question of (Spanish) Coasts

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Question of (Spanish) Coasts

Postby Phillips » 24 Mar 2008, 22:27

I have a fleet in Portugal, which was just bumped by a fleet from the north coast of Spain (supported by another fleet in the Mid-Atlantic). The game says I can retreat to the south coast. I could've sworn it didn't matter, and this is still illegal... Thoughts?
Phillips
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question of (Spanish) Coasts

Postby mdmuff » 24 Mar 2008, 23:13

Right now the system doesn't let you know if a retreat is illegal and will let you put in the order, even though it will not execute it. This IIRC is on the list of bugs to fixed and should be taken care of soon.

Your unit will just be destroyed.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Question of (Spanish) Coasts

Postby behnam » 25 Mar 2008, 06:02

I think the game should let you put in the order, even if it is not possible. After all, misorders are part of the F2F games, so why shouldn't they be here?

Although it is not applicable in this particular case, everyone is responsible for knowing which territories they can retreat to...the moves are there for everyone to see. There really aren't any excuses...
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests