Paradoxical move?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Paradoxical move?

Postby arcos » 09 Mar 2008, 22:35

Given this situation:
Turkey: fleet in black sea, army in bulgaria
Russia: army in galicia, navy in rumania

black sea moves to sevastopol
bulgaria (with one support) moves to rumania
galicia supports russian navy in rumania
rumania moves to sevastopol

Rumania and sevastopol will block each other, but will rumania still hold?
arcos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 01:29
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Paradoxical move?

Postby brenton » 09 Mar 2008, 23:21

I was under the impression you could only support someone in what they are doing.

If an army is moving, you can only support their move. If an army is holding, you can only support it holding.
brenton
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (977)
All-game rating: (977)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Paradoxical move?

Postby Master Radishes » 10 Mar 2008, 05:24

Brenton is correct. If Rumania moves to Sevastopol, then any support for Rumania to hold will be null. The unit has to remain where it is for the support to work; retaining the territory after a bounce does not count, since the unit technically moved before being bounced back.

So, if I understand the scenario correctly, Rum and BLA will bounce in Sev, but then Russia will lose Rum (and have nowhere to retreat to, since you can't retreat to where there has been a standoff). Turkey will gain Rum, but not Sev.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Paradoxical move?

Postby infinity8ball » 10 Mar 2008, 15:00

Actually, to be more precise, you can support a unit to hold as long as it doesn't move.

This means if Rum was supporting Sev, it can STILL be supported by Gal, no matter what happens in Sev (or to sev as the case may be).
User avatar
infinity8ball
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 2174
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests