Page 1 of 1

Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 28 Feb 2008, 08:33
by svengali
I'm playing a game as France, and in the summer of 1903, here's the setup. I have a fleet in Liverpool while England has a fleet in Wales. Russia has an army in Clyde. I also have a fleet in the English Channel. I would like to hold Liverpool in the fall, but fear England moving WAL-LIV with Russian support at Clyde. Obviously I have no adjacent units to support my fleet, so my question is this. If I move ENG-WAL and LIV-CLY, will that cause a bounce? Thanks.

Re: Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 28 Feb 2008, 11:38
by Master Radishes
No, it won't. Lvp-Cly will not cut the Russian support, as it will still be two units against one, and ENG-Wal does absolutely nothing, as Wal is moving, not supporting, so there won't be support to cut or anything. Instead, you'll take Wal, but be forced to retreat from Lvp.

What you could do instead, however, is attack Lvp - Wal, with ENG supporting the attack. This will bounce you two back out again, as each side has two units attacking without support being cut anywhere. But only do this if you're certain Russia will be supporting Wal-Lvp, otherwise you'll end up with Wal and will have left Lvp open.

If you don't want to risk that, and play it safe - sorry, with those pieces and their arrangement, there's no move to guarantee you'll hold Liverpool.

Re: Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 28 Feb 2008, 20:39
by svengali
Alright, thanks. Thought it was worth a try. I guess I have to use old fashioned diplomacy to convince Russia to look elsewhere.

Re: Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 11 Mar 2008, 21:05
by infinity8ball
Support is cut by an attacking unit UNLESS the attacking unit is in the province that the supporting unit is helping to dislodge.

Or in layman's terms... you can't cut support of a guy who's already attacking your spot (or helping to attack it).

Re: Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 12 Mar 2008, 13:04
by Xeinar
This is a very helpful thread... even for those like me who don't play since a long time and despite re-reading the rules keep on forgetting things! :D :D :D

Re: Question about cutting support

PostPosted: 18 Mar 2008, 16:29
by infinity8ball
Yeah, you can kind of think of it this way:

If you attack someone, they need to fight you. If you attack someone supporting (involved in another battle), they have to stop what they're doing and address you and your assault on their borders.

IF, however, that army is supporting the assault against you in your province, they're already fighting you (just with shelling and artillery), so you don't really distract them from already attacking you.