Dislodged unit cutting support?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby rorschachman » 21 Mar 2011, 18:46

Hi guys,
I just wanted to check a fairly minor point: am I right in thinking that a dislodged unit can't cut support for another unit to hold?

eg. if an army in Picardy is drawing off Burgundy's support for an attack on Paris, but is itself dislodged (say by an attack from Brest, supported by the Channel), does it succeed in cutting the support?

Thanks, and apologies if this is a foolish question :)

rorschachman
rorschachman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Sep 2009, 19:59
Location: UK
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (974)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby Kian » 21 Mar 2011, 19:01

rorschachman wrote:Hi guys,
I just wanted to check a fairly minor point: am I right in thinking that a dislodged unit can't cut support for another unit to hold?

eg. if an army in Picardy is drawing off Burgundy's support for an attack on Paris, but is itself dislodged (say by an attack from Brest, supported by the Channel), does it succeed in cutting the support?

Thanks, and apologies if this is a foolish question :)

rorschachman


It can and it does.

Think of every move as simultaneous.

Pic-Bur cuts the support
Bur s Par
and is dislodged by Bre-Pic, Eng s Bre-Pic

all at the same time.

It also helps to think of Pic-Bur as a failed attack. It failed but it happened. Bur is prevented from supporting Paris as it defends itself against the attack from Pic. Pic withdraws to Pic and is dislodged by a supported attack.

Its not a stupid question ;)
"Tell the truth, and so puzzle and confound your adversaries. ” Sir Henry Wotton

"I'm better pleas'd to make one more,
Than be the death o' twenty." Lines on War - Rabbie Burns
User avatar
Kian
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 01:52
Location: UK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby rorschachman » 26 Mar 2011, 15:27

Thanks very much Kian - I'd clearly just got the wrong end of the stick.

Cheers,
rorschachman

:)
rorschachman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Sep 2009, 19:59
Location: UK
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (974)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby Shampoo » 12 Feb 2017, 14:10

Another beginnersquestion 5 years after the originaliteit post.

A disloged unit can cut support elsewhere but not on the unit that supported his attacker to get him dislogged. Right?
Shampoo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 21:38
Location: Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1258)
All-game rating: (1248)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby super_dipsy » 12 Feb 2017, 16:22

I think page 10 is what you want from the rules which are herehttp://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/diplomacy.pdf

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (268.45 KiB) Viewed 1849 times

I think the bit you are questioning is the second bullet. The third related to the original post all those years ago!
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12049
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 941
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodged unit cutting support?

Postby Shampoo » 12 Feb 2017, 18:42

Clear, its logical and this was where i was looking for. Overread it looking for it. Thanks.
Shampoo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 21:38
Location: Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1258)
All-game rating: (1248)
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest