Page 1 of 1

Supporting

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2008, 07:34
by Namfuak
If I want to support an army (or navy), must I be adjacent to the country I am supporting and the country that I am supporting an attack on? For example, would APic Support ABel in attacking AHoll

Re: Supporting

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2008, 14:53
by mdmuff
They must be adjacent

Re: Supporting

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2008, 16:28
by w123
I will clarify how supporting works. In your example A Picardy could not support A Belgium to Holland. To support an attack on a territory, the supporter does NOT need to be adjacent to the attacker. However the supporter does have to be adjacent to the attacked country. For example:

A Berlin moves to Munich
A Burgundy supports A Berlin to Munich

This scenario works because the supporter is adjacent to the attacked territory even though it is not adjacent to the attacking territory.

Also, remember that a fleet cannot support an attack over land. For example:

A Picardy moves to Paris
F Brest supports A Picardy to Paris

This does not work even though Brest is adjacent to Paris because the fleet cannot give support when it can only reach the attacked territory over land.

Re: Supporting

PostPosted: 13 Feb 2008, 19:39
by Namfuak
w123 wrote:I will clarify how supporting works. In your example A Picardy could not support A Belgium to Holland. To support an attack on a territory, the supporter does NOT need to be adjacent to the attacker. However the supporter does have to be adjacent to the attacked country. For example:

A Berlin moves to Munich
A Burgundy supports A Berlin to Munich

This scenario works because the supporter is adjacent to the attacked territory even though it is not adjacent to the attacking territory.

Also, remember that a fleet cannot support an attack over land. For example:

A Picardy moves to Paris
F Brest supports A Picardy to Paris

This does not work even though Brest is adjacent to Paris because the fleet cannot give support when it can only reach the attacked territory over land.


OK, I wish I had known the second bit for a different game :|

Re: Supporting

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2008, 14:32
by Batsman
The simple rule of thumb is:
If your unit could move there, it can support there.