A Question About Finalizing

Rules for playing on and using the site.
Forum rules
This section of the Forum is for the Site's rules.
If you have a question about how to play the game, please post in the RULES section of the Forum, not here. The site's rules for standard Dip do not substantially differ from published rules.

A Question About Finalizing

Postby DipInRoad » 22 Apr 2014, 11:30

During a phase, where I have no moves to make, especially during Retreats and Builds, I still have a Finalize option. What happens if I don't press finalize?

A) The game progresses to the next phase as soon as the last person who DOES have a move to make, makes those moves and finalizes

B) The game waits until the deadline before progressing to the next phase

I've been assuming that the answer is A, but I'd like to confirm that. (It also means that I don't have to constantly check all of my games to see if I need to finalize non-orders.)
Never give up! Never surrender!
User avatar
DipInRoad
 
Posts: 237
Joined: 12 Apr 2014, 00:32
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (515)
All-game rating: (780)
Timezone: GMT

Re: A Question About Finalizing

Postby WHSeward » 22 Apr 2014, 11:54

The answer is A)
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2934
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: A Question About Finalizing

Postby Tarsier » 22 Apr 2014, 13:47

Yes, A) except in one unique situation, which is when none of the countries have any orders except the one country that has surrendered. In that case, the programmers here have put in a feature that somebody, whether he has orders or not, needs to finalize to signal that the other players want to progress. The intent is to otherwise give time for another player to pick up that country unless the group decides otherwise (when, in reality) it is the one individual who finalizes that decides otherwise. But a lot of people don't know about this and get confused when nobody but the surrendered country has orders, since theirs normally progress as if finalized.
User avatar
Tarsier
 
Posts: 637
Joined: 03 Dec 2013, 02:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (2018)
All-game rating: (2105)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A Question About Finalizing

Postby Bigtex » 22 Apr 2014, 15:17

So in the situation you described, it only takes one of the non surrendered powers to finalize his or her orders to signal the game to not wait for the surrendered country and move forward. Cool thanks.
Bigtex
Premium Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Aug 2013, 21:19
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1534)
All-game rating: (1783)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A Question About Finalizing

Postby Tarsier » 22 Apr 2014, 16:17

That's right. Glad to help.
User avatar
Tarsier
 
Posts: 637
Joined: 03 Dec 2013, 02:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (2018)
All-game rating: (2105)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A Question About Finalizing

Postby Petunia » 22 Apr 2014, 18:55

Just confirming that everything in this thread so far is accurate.
Any views expressed prior to Dec 2013 are solely my own and do not represent the site or its administration in any way.
I took a break from the site for a while. I'm back now. Hi.
Platinum Classicist
User avatar
Petunia
 
Posts: 3190
Joined: 29 Aug 2012, 21:57
Location: I'm a dude.
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1583)
All-game rating: (1571)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Rules for Fair Play and Fair Use

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest