Help with Turkish Strategy!

Young people want their own special group too!

Moderators: mat.gopack, nanooktheeskimo

Forum rules
The Students group is an official Forum group. If you want to join, go to your User Control Panel and click on Usergroups. Scroll down to groups under 'Non-memberships' and apply there. The Group Leader will deal with the application when possible.

Help with Turkish Strategy!

Postby mach2 » 11 Jul 2012, 14:28

Advance note: I know how annoying it is when beginners rush in and ask for the answers without thinking. With that in mind, I'm not asking to be told what is best, just some handy hints and nudges in the right direction to help learn.

Hi everyone,

I am very new to diplomacy, participating in only my second game ever, and I am playing as Turkey. The current game is different because there is one less player (Italy's units are holding each turn until they are all gone).

Unfortunately, I think I may have messed up already, even though it is just the first move! I moved:
-An army from Constantinople to Bulgaria
-A fleet from Ankara to Constantinople
-My army stayed still in Smyrna
-Austria-Hungary's units are in Trieste, Serbia, and the Adriatic.
-Russian units are in the Black Sea, Ukraine, St. Petersburg, and the Gulf of Bothnia.

I think my biggest mistake was to let Russia into the Black Sea. I would have liked to go into Greece or Rumania with my army, and followed it with the fleet in Constantinople. However, the Russia fleet in the Black Sea can then try to move into Ankara or Constantinople, and my army in Smyrna can only move to defend one of these, giving a 50/50 chance that I'll lose something.

So it seems like the best thing to do is just to move the army in Smyrna to Ankara, and leave the other two units still. However, this means only one new unit at the end of the turn.