Can I take the username of an inactive account?

Rules for using the site and playing on site.

Can I take the username of an inactive account?

Postby Mcarps424 » 09 Apr 2016, 03:37

What is the policy of changing my username to an already existing inactive account? My username right now is Mcarps424 and I wish to shorten it down to Carp. There is already an existing account by the name of Carp but they have not played a game since 2013. I am wondering if there is a certain time period of inactivity, in which the account can be declared inactive and the username can be taken by another player. If not I am fine with the username I have now.
Mcarps424
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 13:52
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1771)
All-game rating: (1785)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can I take the username of an inactive account?

Postby asudevil » 09 Apr 2016, 04:18

Mcarps424 wrote:What is the policy of changing my username to an already existing inactive account? My username right now is Mcarps424 and I wish to shorten it down to Carp. There is already an existing account by the name of Carp but they have not played a game since 2013. I am wondering if there is a certain time period of inactivity, in which the account can be declared inactive and the username can be taken by another player. If not I am fine with the username I have now.


You can't...since that name is tied to whatever games that guy has played...also we get people who play...take a few years off...then come back...Once a name has been taken...we don't recycle. Im sorry. Lots of REALLY good names have been lost because of this.
Captain FANG, forum team championships WINNER
Part of the surviving nations of WW4/Haven

Unless I am in the cheater's subforum. 99% of what I say is NOT as a mod.

Want to play fantasy football next season [url=http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=56016[/url]
User avatar
asudevil
Premium Member
 
Posts: 15874
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 02:20
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1355
All-game rating: 1525
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Can I take the username of an inactive account?

Postby Mcarps424 » 09 Apr 2016, 15:14

It was worth a try. Thank you anyway.
Mcarps424
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 13:52
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1771)
All-game rating: (1785)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can I take the username of an inactive account?

Postby I Love Italy » 09 Apr 2016, 18:34

You could change to Carps though.
Goodbye everybody,
I've got to go.

Got to leave you all behind,
and face the truth.

P.S.
Potatoes are the stoners of the animal kingdom.
User avatar
I Love Italy
 
Posts: 2352
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 23:08
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1041)
All-game rating: (1059)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Site Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest